Who we are
  web by
GreenMan Design

last modified: January 22, 2004

EPR Working Group

The Extended Producer Responsibility Principles were developed by the EPR Working Group, composed of representatives of environmental, labor, health and environmental justice organizations. It grew out of an activist conference on Extended Producer Responsibility held in Toronto in September 2002. Representatives of groups that participated in the Toronto event have been meeting by phone since then to develop a set of clear and strong EPR Principles.

The EPR Working Group held a skillshare in Buffalo July 7 & 8, 2003. To see presentations from the meeting, click here.

The goals of the EPR Working Group are to:

  1. Create an effective strategy to establish extended producer responsibility (EPR) as a central framework for product management;
  2. Collaborate to educate target audiences and to win EPR legislation;
  3. Contribute to and support existing EPR campaigns, both within our countries and internationally.

Participants in EPR Working Group (July 2003)

Alexandra McPherson Clean Production Action East Aurora NY
Anne Morse GrassRoots Recycling Network Winona MN
Annie Leonard Global Anti-Incineration Alliance Berkeley CA
Bailey Mylleville Great Lakes United Buffalo NY
Bette Fishbein INFORM Inc. New York NY
Beverley Thorpe Clean Production Action Montreal PQ
Bill Sheehan GrassRoots Recycling Network Athens GA
Charles Griffith Clean Car Campaign Ann Arbor MI
Dave Bennett Canadian Labour Congress Ottawa ON
Dave Williamson Ecology Center Berkeley CA
David Stitzhal Full Circle Environmental, Inc. Seattle WA
David Wood GrassRoots Recycling Network & Computer TakeBack Campaign Madison WI
Eric Lombardi Eco-Cycle, Inc. Boulder CO
Gord Perks Toronto Environmental Alliance Toronto ON
Helen Spiegelman Society Promoting Environmental Conservation Vancouver BC
Iza Kruszewska Clean Production Action London UK
Jim Mahon Canadian Auto Workers Local 1520 London ON
Joel Tickner Lowell Center for Sustainable Production Lowell MA
John McNabb Clean Water Alliance/New England Cohasset MA
Kara Reeve Clean Water Action Boston MA
Karen Thomas Clean Car Campaign & Environmental Defense Northhampton MA
Katrina Miller Toronto Environmental Alliance Toronto ON
Ken Bondy Canadian Auto Workers Council Environment Committee Windsor ON
Ken Geiser Toxics Use Reduction Institute Lowell MA
Loretta Michaud Workers Health and Safety Centre Don Mills ON
Marti Matsch Eco-Cycle, Inc. Boulder CO
Michael Bender Mercury Policy Project Montpelier VT
Monica Wilson Global Anti-Incineration Alliance Berkeley CA
Naoko Tojo IIIEE, University of Lund SWEDEN
Nick DeCarlo Canadian Auto Workers Health and Safety Department Toronto ON
Sarah Westervelt Basel Action Network Seattle WA
Sego Jackson Northwest Product Stewardship Council Everett WA
Suellen Mele Washington Citizens for Resource Conservation Seattle WA
Ted Smith Computer TakeBack Campaign & Silicon Valley Toxics Coalition San Jose CA
Timothy Logan NYC Environmental Justice Alliance New York NY